Can I retain my backlinks if I move my site from myVR

• Newcomer

Hello.
    My domain name points to my myVR site.
    I want to look into getting some backlinks for my site to help it rank better.

Question, if I leave myVR in the future, do my backlinks stay with my site. I mean, will the backlinks from my current domain be able to be redirected to the new site?
    Thanks
    Sherry

• MyVR Employee

Hi Sherry!

Sorry for the delay in responding. I'm not an SEO expert, but I believe this question is within my comfort zone!

Back links are a great idea, and critical to any SEO strategy. If set up properly, your backlinks should be independent of the technology you use for your website.

A backlink is basically a link on a third party website that directs to a page on your website. You would just need to make sure that the link doesn't break if you were ever to change your website. But that's entirely within your control.

For example, if I get a third party website to link to the "Local Info" section of my property's website, I'd have the backlink link to that page on my website, which is: https://www.sonomasquarecottage.com/local/. If I ever remove this page, without setting up a redirect (more on this in a second), then that backlink would break.

That backlink just needs to remain intact once established. So, if you were ever going to change your website, you'd want to make sure that you keep that page (with the same URL). Or, if you removed or moved it, you'd want to set up redirects to other pages so that the links don't break (MyVR has a tool to do this for our website users).